Upgrading Revit Projects to a New Version

This article outlines best practices to follow when upgrading a Revit model from an older version.

  1. Read the release notes for the Revit version to which you will be upgrading to. If the upgrade encompasses more than one year release, read the release notes associated with all versions of Revit you are upgrading through. You will use the release notes information to test specific items that may have changed between versions. For example, if the way text has been upgraded in the new version, make sure that placed text and tags still look correct when using the new version of Revit.
  2. Copy the project model to a new folder location. Upgrading will require initial testing in a non-production environment to ensure everything works right.
  3. Open your project with the version of Revit which you want to upgrade to.
    1. In the Open dialog, be sure to check the Audit box. Auditing will clean up the Revit database to ensure no file corruption occurs. It is highly recommended to Audit when upgrading to a new version of Revit. A warning will pop up. Click the Yes button.
    2. Select Detach from central if your project is workshared. This will allow you to save your model as a new central file.
    3. Click the Open button
  4. Open the project and look at the sheets, views and schedules. Make note of anything that may look odd or different from the previous release. Use the release notes you previously studied to identify items that may work differently. Modify families, settings or parameters as needed. For example, if new schedule enhancements allow you to combine fields, and some of your schedules could benefit from such a feature, update them to use the new feature.
  5. Once your checking is complete, Save as a central file in your final project directory if you are using worksharing (otherwise, simply save into the final directory). It is recommended to include the Revit release year as part of your model naming convention to avoid overwriting any files.
  6. If worksharing, make a note of the specific build of Revit you are using, and ensure that others collaborating with you are using the same build. This is accessible from the Help dropdown, About Autodesk Revit.
  7. Synchronize to central if your project is workshared; otherwise, just save your project.
  8. You have now completed the upgrade to a new version of Revit.

If you maintain custom family content libraries in folder directories, review this screencast on an easy way to upgrade multiple families.

Edwin Guerra

About

Edwin is a BIM Consultant focusing on Building Performance and Structural Design with Summit Technologies, a leading provider of BIM consulting services based in Vancouver, BC. Edwin’s extensive knowledge of Revit, Dynamo, Navisworks, Bluebeam, Ecotect, Green Building Studio and Autodesk Vasari, is complemented by a passion for Green Building Design.

2 Responses to Upgrading Revit Projects to a New Version

  1. An interesting tip I picked up at BILT-NA was to run a pdf of all views and sheets before the upgrade, and again after the upgrade, and then do a Compare in Bluebeam to show the changes. I thought it was clever.

    • Thanks for sharing Daniel, that is a great suggestion. Bluebeam Revu’s automated compare would definitely be very useful for accomplishing this.

Leave a reply

Summit Technologies 2015
Vancouver: 604.568.8324 | Calgary: 403.648.9272 | Edmonton: 780.936.8008

604.568.8324